New Year, New Me

55251-new-year-new-life

Not going to lie, last year, I spent most of my time being angry and frustrated. While it wasn’t a particular person or event that sparked that – and yes, I know I have a lot to be grateful for and I acknowledge that whole heartedly – but for some reason, upon reflection, I realized that I spent most of 2016 “soul searching” if you will. I think I spent a lot of time being angry and frustrated simply on the feeling of being stuck at a place in my life I so desperately didn’t want to be anymore. But like most things in life, you can’t control everything and you don’t always get what you want. I think in reflection of certain events that happened, I’ve come to conclude that everything is where it needs to be and those still in my life are here for a reason – as well as those that have left were for the better.

With that being said, I wanted to approach 2017 with more focused goals and getting back in touch with myself and who I wish to become. I’ve set some pretty big goals that I’d really love to achieve this year. Some might be outside of my control, but I’m hopeful that in good time and with hard work, it will eventually happen. I’m trying to focus myself on meditation (peace) and positivity. Those are my two “themes” for 2017. I’m going to try to let go of the past, of the things I cannot change; to work on progressing forward and maintaining all that I do have currently; and to push myself to reach longer-lasting goals for the future. I think this past year, I’ve made some significant steps forward and I only hope that this year is even better, and if I’m lucky, with deeper lunges into what I hope to be better days.

Like I said, I’m truly grateful. I am by no means ungrateful for anything that has happened. I think 2016 was a transitional period for me and for the revolving parts of my life. I think headed into 2017, with clearer perspective and finding peace with certain things, I definitely have great faith and hope in this New Year. For the first time, in a long time, I’m excited to see where this year leads us. I wish you all the best in your own goals and ambitions for this year as I’m sure you’re bound for success (if you’re not already where you want to be).

Leave a Reply

