Finding Forgiveness & Moving Forward

“Don’t let who you used to be hold yourself back from who you can become.” –Al Carraway

There are a lot of things I used to do, people I used to know, things I used to say…all of which I can’t say that I’m proud of. However, I’ve always been a strong believer in change and that everything happens for a reason. Upon reading that excerpt from Al Carraway, it became clear to me that I can’t hold all the things I used to do or say and the people I used to know accountable for the person I become today, but rather, to use those experiences and friendships as a means to change and to become the person I want and know I can become. I used to feel ashamed of the places I had been, of the person I used to be, but again, that excerpt provided clarity that I shouldn’t be ashamed. Life is full of mistakes that help you learn some of the greatest, hardest lessons ever learned in life. What you lose simply makes you grateful for what you have. What you don’t have makes you motivates you to set goals and to make changes accordingly to achieve such goals.

There’s a song by Tenth Avenue North, “You Are More,” and it truly encompasses the lessons and light of every experience, every loss or triumph and rebuilding your life around what you’ve learned or experienced.

“This is not about what you’ve done, but what’s been done for you.
This is not about where you’ve been, but where your brokenness brings you to.
This is not about what you felt, but what He felt to forgive you and what He felt to make you loved.”

42 Behold, he who has repented of his sins, the same is forgiven, and I, the Lord, remember them no more.

Doctrine and Covenants 58:42

Leave a Reply

